General Information

Inside the ACW

The Anglican Church Worldwide ‘Reaching out to the World &…Beyond Under the Protection of the Cross’

THE SHIELD   The design dates back from the late 1500’s  Church of England. Adjustments has been made for the ACW Mission

Origin of Formation
Derived from the Church of England, first commissioned August 11, 1919, by Archbishop George Alexander McGuire  
November 1, 1998, by Archbishop George Ford, Archbishop Wilfred Potier, Brooklyn, New York, Archbishop Vincent Waterman, Nova Scotia, Canada
Outreach & Current Status
Countries: Barbados,  Grenada, St Kitts & Nevis, St Vincent,  West Indies, USA, Canada, NA. Guyana, SA, Southern Sudan, Uganda, Kenya, Africa, Australia  
Order of Clergy 
Patriarch, Archbishop Metropolitan, Archbishop, Bishop, Archdeacon, Vicar General, Canon,  Priest, Deacon, Sub-Deacon, Laity   
Relationship with Canterbury
'Many of the Continuing Churches of the Anglican faith wrestle with whether they are in communion with Canterbury or nay. The ACW is NOT in communion with Canterbury administratively, but spiritually'

What is Anglican Church Worldwide?  (ACW)
The ACW was formed to ensure the upholding of the faith and the Word of God.  From time to time it is necessary to make adjustments and theological changes, but always within the framework of the Holy Spirit & the Written Word. The ACW holds to the principles of the traditional faith of which we believe that the Word of God is the fulfillment of Christian Faith.

Apostolic  Succession
The ACW maintains and supports Apostolic Succession. It is three-fold Orders of Bishop, Priest and Deacon. 

To promote Peace, Unity, and Reconciliation. We bestow Holy Orders uniquely upon those who profess the call of Christ. We also recognize the Holy Office of Deaconess for Women called to serve the church.

The Ministry of Laity
Our clergy are dedicated to "equipping" the church by teaching the faith in order that each Christian may go into the world to proclaim the Gospel and fulfill the work, mercy and love that Christ passed on to us .

Cooperation with others
It is our intent to reach out to all offering ourselves as examples of Christian love, while preserving our Anglican heritage & traditions. We offer to share through dialogue and discussion

The ACW makes use of all seven (7) Sacraments, necessary to the process of salvation. We recognize Holy Baptism, Holy Eucharist, Confirmation, Penance, Holy Unction, Ordination, Marriage.

Liturgical Calendars & Colors 
By tradition, various colors are used. There are vestments for different seasons and feasts of the Church Calendar  Year.

White:  Color of Purity, used for Christmastide, Epiphany, Eastertide, Ascension Tide.

Red:  Color of Pentecost. It is also used for Masses of the Holy Ghost.

Green:  Represents life.  Present  on ordinary Sundays,  after Epiphany and Easter, called Trinity

Violet:  Used on Penitential occasions & Requiems. 

Black: For Requiems, All Soul’s Day & Good Friday.

Pink:  Marks for joy during periods of Penitence & Fasting.

From the Greek Word meaning Thanksgiving.  Our common name, Holy Communion, Lord’s Supper, or Mass.
This celebration is the principal act of Christian worship on the Lord’s Day.
Word comprised from two Greek words which means “ Work of the people.” Liturgy is the public prayer or worship of God’s people gathered in community.                   




Reaching Out to the World and........ Beyond
                                                                                       Under the Protection of the Cross                                                                                                                          

Disclaimer: This is the original and authorized version of the Anglican Church Worldwide website.

We assume no responsibility for the contents and/or publication of any site created after our initial publication date.