Header Graphic
Header Graphic

General Information

Inside the ACW

The Anglican Church Worldwide ‘Reaching out to the World & Beyond, Under the Protection of the Cross.

THE SHIELD   The design dates back from the late 1500’s  Church of England. Adjustments have been made for the ACW Mission.

Origin of Formation
Derived from the Church of England, first commissioned August 11, 1919, by Archbishop George Alexander McGuire  
November 1, 1998, by Archbishops George Ford and Wilfred Potier, of Brooklyn, New York, and Archbishop Vincent Waterman, of Nova Scotia, Canada.
Outreach & Current Status
Countries: Barbados, Grenada, St Kitts & Nevis, St Vincent, West Indies, USA, Canada, Guyana, Southern Sudan, Uganda, Kenya, Africa, and Australia.  
Order of Clergy 
Patriarch, Archbishop Metropolitan, Archbishop, Bishop, Archdeacon, Vicar General, Canon, Priest, Deacon, Sub-Deacon, and Laity.   
Relationship with Canterbury
Many of the Continuing Churches of the Anglican faith wrestle with whether or not they are in communion with Canterbury. The ACW is not in communion with Canterbury administratively, but spiritually.

What is Anglican Church Worldwide?  (ACW)
The ACW was formed to ensure the upholding of the faith and the Word of God.  From time to time it is necessary to make minor cultural adjustments and changes in the expression of our faith, but always within the framework of the written Word of God, under the guidance of the Holy Spirit. The ACW holds to the principles of the traditional faith in which we believe that the Word of God is the fulfillment of the Christian Faith.

Apostolic  Succession
The ACW maintains and supports Apostolic Succession. It is three-fold Clerical Orders of Bishop, Priest and Deacon. 

To promote Peace, Unity, and Reconciliation, we confer Holy Orders only upon those who profess the call of Jesus Christ. We also recognize the Holy Office of Deaconess for Women called to serve the church.

The Ministry of Laity
Our clergy are dedicated to equipping the church by teaching the true Gospel of Jesus Christ in order that each Christian may go into the world to proclaim the Gospel and fulfill the work, mercy and love that Christ passed on to us .

Cooperation with others
It is our intent to reach out to all offering ourselves as examples of Christian love, while preserving our Anglican heritage and traditions. We offer to share through dialogue and discussion.

The ACW makes use of all seven (7) Sacraments, necessary to the process of salvation. We recognize Holy Baptism, Holy Eucharist, Confirmation, Penance, Holy Unction, Ordination, and Marriage.

Liturgical Calendars & Colors 
By tradition, various colors are used. There are vestments for different seasons and feasts of the Church Calendar  Year.

White:  Color of Purity, used for Christmastide, Epiphany, Eastertide, Ascension Tide.

Red:  Color of Pentecost. It is also used for Services commemorating the Holy Spirit.

Green:  Represents life Present on ordinary Sundays after Epiphany and Easter, called Trinity

Violet:  Used on Penitential occasions and Requiems. 

Black: For Requiems, All Soul’s Day and Good Friday.

Pink:  Marks for joy during periods of Penitence and Fasting.

From the Greek Word meaning Thanksgiving. Our common name, Holy Communion or Lord’s Supper.
This celebration is the principal act of Christian worship on the Sunday.
Word comprised from two Greek words which means “ Work of the people.” Liturgy is the public prayer or worship of God’s people gathered in community.                   



Reaching Out to the World and..... Beyond
Under the Protection of the Cross

Disclaimer: This is the original and authorized version of the Anglican Church Worldwide website.

We assume no responsibility for the contents and/or publication of any site created after our initial publication date.